Graduate School Open House

I love my job. And I love my colleagues.

Last night was the Spring Graduate School Open House. I was incredibly anxious about it, because I have never, ever planned an event of any size, much less one this large. Thankfully, the girl who held my position until January did a lot of the initial planning. I still had to organize department representatives, RSVPs, etc., but her help before leaving was huge.

Adding to some of my anxiety leading up to this event was the fact I was going to be responsible for guiding a campus tour. I did not complete any of my education at this institution and I’m still learning about each of the buildings and offerings of this urban campus. We had over 60 individuals RSVP for the tour portion and after coordinating schedules I learned that only the Director and myself were available during the time slot to give tours. So, my inaugural tour was going to be to a large group. (eeeek) Early yesterday afternoon I had the pleasure (okay, actually it was extremely awkward and stressful) of giving the Director a tour, so we could make sure I was capable of giving an intelligent, worthwhile experience. After getting through that, I was confident that I would make it through alive.

All set and ready to go

All set and ready to go

When I was initially hired and told that these Open Houses were my responsibility to plan and manage I was SO intimidated. But, now after having one under my belt, I think I will be able to look forward to planning these future events. It wasn’t as scary as I thought.

The event was a success! I received plenty of positive feedback from my peers and we had a pretty good turnout for a spring event. I was able to secure representatives from all of the departments and we had around 130 potential applicants and their guests join us. Some of the highlights for me were meeting some of the faculty members that I often speak with on the phone, helping them with technical difficulties related to application review and my husband being able to stop by and “see me in action.” I am incredibly proud of my job and was happy he got to see, first-hand, some of my hard work come to fruition.

Guests learning financial aid

Guests learning financial aid

The ease of my afternoon and evening was, in no doubt, partly due to the incredible support I have received from the others in the Graduate School. They’ve easily welcomed me into their “family” and are always in my corner with encouragement and advice. After weeks of anticipation, I am happy to have it behind me. The preparation and ultimate success of our Open House gave me the confidence I’ve been lacking. Here’s to the successful beginning of my professional career back in Wisconsin!

One response to “Graduate School Open House

  1. Pingback: Myles Says ‘thanks’ and Rudy Gets Even | What The Efff

Leave a Reply

