PB & J Muffins

title

These muffins were gone in the matter of 48 hours. And no, it isn’t because Rudy found his way onto the counter to eat them. Peanut butter is a hot commodity in our house. I absolutely love it and the dogs go bananas over it.

batter Collage

This was an extremely easy recipe and I thought it was also incredibly delicious. I definitely learned a few lessons for next time, though! The original recipe is from Two Peas & Their Pod (like so many of the delicious things I venture to try).

pb4

Peanut Butter & Jelly Muffins

1 2/3 c all-purpose flour
1/2 c packed light brown sugar
1 Tbs baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 c milk
1/2 c creamy peanut butter
1/3 c canola oil
1 large egg
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 c strawberry jam or your favorite jam

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Spray 12 muffin cups with nonstick cooking spray or line with paper cups.
2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the milk, peanut butter, oil, egg, and vanilla. Stir the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and mix just until combined.
3. Scoop about 2 tablespoons of batter into each muffin cup. Spoon a heaping teaspoonful of jam on top of each cupful of batter. Then spoon about 2 tablespoons of batter over the jam. Divide any remaining batter equally among the muffin cups.
4. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until the muffins have risen in the middle and are firm to the touch.

I thought I was so lucky to have some of the mouth-watering strawberry jam my mother-in-law makes. Unfortunately, it proved to be far too runny. It didn’t bake well with the batter. Fortunately, there hadn’t been enough jam to fill all 12 muffins, so I also used some of her homemade berry jelly. The muffins with jelly turned out MUCH better. I highly, highly recommend that you stay away from jam for this recipe and stick to the jelly (maybe that is why there are called Peanut Butter and Jelly Muffins)!

pb6

Have no fear. Despite the fact that they jam-filled muffins crumbled, I managed to salvage them. I can’t let a good thing go to waste. Are you serious? …It was only marginally embarrassing eating them crumbles out of a plastic bag for breakfast.

The jam also seemed to bubble over more than the jelly, leaving a sticky mess on my pan. The jelly ones were fine. Despite the mess (that probably could’ve been avoided with more forethought!), I definitely think they’re worth a try.

pb7

Here is some information on the differences between jelly, jam, & preserves. I didn’t know the difference until I was well into my twenties, I’m not ashamed to admit it!

Kim, over at Racing Bananas also tried this recipe. I know she is planning on sharing her thoughts on it and when she does, I’ll be sure to update so y’all have another review! …and hopefully hers turned out a little bit purdier than mine!

One response to “PB & J Muffins

  1. Pingback: Thursday Things. | Racing Bananas

Leave a Reply

