Raspberry Swirl Rolls

“Letttt the sunshiiiine, letttt the sun shine in.” You know – that song from the closing scenes of 40-Year-Old Virgin? That was in my head yesterday during my lunch period. It was GORGEOUS outside. And sunny. So sunny.

And then a storm rolled through last night (clouds and sprinkles, my butt!) and we lost power around 9pm. I was in bed when it came back on, of course scaring the shiz out of Myles and requiring some time to get him calmed down so we could all sleep again!

To this point, I’ve only officially shared my blog with 3 of my close friends. I have to admit I’m still a bit insecure about putting myself out there. It’s so much easier to do with strangers – because if they judge you, you never have to know. With people you know though, man, it’s tough. But, one baby step forward has been sharing it with my little sister. Not sure if she’s read it yet, but she knows it exists. Maybe in another 10 years I’ll share it with my parents, family, and friends…and Facebook? So intimidating. Maybe not 10 years, but did that at least get my point across about my apprehension? Mkay, good.

A few weeks ago, I talked about Stitch Fix. I had signed up to receive a fix. I was shocked at how well the stylist was able to match my style. I loved most of what was in my box, unfortunately, budget-wise I couldn’t keep it all. Ah, the joys of being a young professional that has moved 3 times in 18 months. Prices ranged from $38 to $75. I loved the shirt that came in on the high-end of that price range, but I couldn’t justify keeping it. Especially since I’m much more of a “dress” kind of girl. But, I did hang on to this blue wrap dress. It’s so soft and flowy. I think it will be great as the weather continues to warm up. If you’re interested, you can check out this link. In the interest of full disclosure, if you sign up using that link I would get a small, one-time reward for a referral. I definitely plan on scheduling another fix, maybe when our budget has a little bit more wiggle room!

photo 1

Earlier this week I shared some of my most recent baking ventures. These Raspberry Swirl Rolls were one of those! They were delicious! I almost enjoyed them more as a reheated treat! I was able to pawn some off on Kim and my grandma, so none of them went to waste. Well, not that I thought any of them would be wasted, but it’s better for me to share the wealth than to have them all end up in my belly.

photo 5

Raspberry Swirl Rolls

Dough:
1 c milk
2/3 c granulated sugar
2 packets active dry yeast (1 1/2 Tbs)
1 stick (4oz) unsalted butter, softened
2 large eggs
1/4 tsp salt
4 1/4 to 4 1/2 c all-purpose flour

Filling:
10 oz frozen raspberries (not thawed)
1/4 c plus 2 Tbs sugar
1 tsp cornstarch

Glaze:
3/4 c powder sugar
3 Tbs unsalted butter, melted
1 1/2 Tbs heavy cream

First, heat up the milk until it is lukewarm. Pour it into your electric mixer bowl, and add the sugar and yeast to it. Mix a little bit, then cover the bowl with a dish towel and let sit for about 5 minutes, until the mixture is frothy. Next, with the mixer running, add in the softened butter, eggs and salt. Slowly begin adding in the flower until a soft dough forms (if the dough is too sticky, add a little more flour). Using the dough hook attachment, beat the dough on medium-high speed for about 10 minutes. Next, form the dough into a ball, place in a greased bowl, cover and let sit in a warm place for about 1 to 2 hours, until it doubles in size.

Prepare your baking pan by lining it with parchment paper* and buttering/spraying it with cooking spray. Once the dough has risen, turn it out onto a floured surface and roll it into a 10×24 inch rectangle.

In a small bowl, mix together the frozen raspberries, sugar and cornstarch. Spread that over the dough and tightly roll it up. Using a sharp knife, cut the log into 16 equal sized slices (you will need to do this pretty fast, because the raspberries will start melting very quickly). Place the rolls into your prepared baking pans, cover them and let them rise in a warm place for another hour to two hours.

photo 2

Preheat your oven to 425 deg F (if you think this is too hot for your oven, turn the temperature down to 400 deg F, or even lower if needed), and bake the rolls for about 25 minutes until they are beautifully golden brown and the juices are bubbling. Let cool. Next, prepare your glaze by whisking together the confectioners’ sugar, butter and heavy cream in a small bowl. Once the rolls have cooled a little, drizzle the glaze over the top. Serve warm!

photo 4

*I learned the hard way that there is, in fact, a difference between wax paper and parchment paper. …when the oven started smoking. Whoops. No worries, I was able to transfer them to a greased pan and they baked just fine without a parchment lined pan.

I prepared these the night before baking them. All I had to do the morning-of was pop them into the oven. The held up beautifully in my fridge overnight. I’d recommend doing that, so you aren’t up at like 3 in the morning making your rolls. A sweet gesture for someone you love, but totally unnecessary. Trust.

photo 3

A winner of a Pinterest find. I haven’t had the chance yet, but I plan on checking out more of Maria’s recipes over at Shop Girl.

One response to “Raspberry Swirl Rolls

  1. Pingback: Pin Party! | What The Efff

Leave a Reply

