Baked Oatmeal

UGH. Humidity. Stttttop. This spring has been terrible. From cold, rain…and humidity, Wisconsinites just can’t catch a break. And our baseball team can’t win a game either. It might as well be winter.

Moving on…

Oatmeal is easily in my top 5 favorite foods. When Craig and I started living together, he quickly took notice of how much oatmeal I had stocked on any given day. He just didn’t understand.

I’ve tried some overnight oat recipes, that aren’t awful, but my favorite will forever and always be baked oatmeal. It’s so easy to put together on a Sunday and package up for a weeks worth of breakfasts. My own grab and go.

I got this recipe from a good friend of mine from college, Nate. After enjoying it, I stalked emailed his mom for the recipe, because I HAD TO HAVE IT. That was over 6 years ago. My how time flies.

I’ve made it with regular milk, coconut milk, almond milk…and they’re all quite delicious. Though I have come to prefer many of my baked goods with coconut milk (mmm, creamy!), this recipe is my favorite when it’s made with good ‘ole regular moo-moo milk.

title

Baked Oatmeal

3 c oatmeal
1 c milk
1 c sugar
1/2 c oil (vegetable oil is best)
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp vanilla
2 beaten eggs

Mix all of the ingredients together in a bowl. Add to a greased 9×13 casserole-type pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

mix

To enjoy, I like adding a little bit more milk to loosen everything up. If it’s been pre-made, you will definitely want to re-heat it in the microwave. I can’t say I’m a fan of this cold! I’ve known people to enjoy it without the extra milk, but I haven’t done that recently. I also can’t imagine that it would easily be reheated without some extra liquid, but maybe?

out of oven

This can be ready in literally 35 minutes. You’re literally just throwing ingredients into a bowl, mixing them a bit, and popping it into the oven. It’s best straight from the oven, but the re-heated taste it a close second.

Adding fresh fruit like strawberries or blueberries promises to make it a special treat.

This has become a breakfast staple!

packaged

Leave a Reply

