Oven Roasted Sausage and Veggie Dinner

So, remember on Friday, when I said I was going to run this weekend? Well, I hadn’t planned on Wisconsin becoming a swamp. Between epic thunderstorms and outrageous humidity, I didn’t make it out. By 7 yesterday morning it was already hot and muggy. Gross. I’m a fair-weather runner, remember? Hopefully I can make some progress this week.

This weekend was low-key again. Saturday, my friend, Kristina, was supposed to head over with her kiddos, but with the severe weather in the forecast, we thought it was best we hold off. It wouldn’t be much fun sitting on a beach with lightening. Right? Craig’s sister was in town Saturday night for a Brewer game, so she stayed with us. It’s always nice to have a little bit of company!

Sunday was awful. It was so hot and humid. Gross. I am meant to live in the north because a hot Jessi quickly becomes an agitated Jessi. Our little window air conditioner wasn’t doing much keeping the house cool. Craig and I headed out to check out Home Depot and Colders to price things out for our new house! It’s depressing to see how much money we are looking at spending, but it didn’t outweigh the joy I felt being in air conditioning!

I’m going to share a roasted sausage and veggie dinner with you. I doubt that if it’s as humid and muggy where you are that you will want to turn on your oven for it, but I’m willing to bet you could wrap everything up in some foil, stick it on the grill and roast it that way too.

roasted finished

– 1 package smoked sausage
– 1 large bell pepper
– 1 small onion
– 6 or 7 small red potatoes
– olive oil
– banana peppers, sliced
– jalapeno peppers, sliced
– salt & pepper to taste

Slice the sausage into about 1/2″ thick slices. Julienne the bell pepper and chop the onion. Slice the red potatoes into 1/4″ to 1/2″ slices. Pile ‘er all up on a greased cookie sheet. Drizzle olive oil over the top, sprinkle with salt and pepper.

roasted pile

Take off your rings and mix everything up! It’s a lot easier to do with your hands!! Over the top drop banana pepper and jalapeno pepper slices. Bake at 400 degrees for 30-35 minutes.

roasted pre cook

How easy! I love it because it helps me incorporate some veggies since I’m not a huge veggie gal. It’s so colorful! Color is nutrition!! I would like to add more bell peppers, but Craig doesn’t care for them much, so adding one means there isn’t as much for him to pick around! I chop the onion because I enjoy the taste of onion but didn’t want to be gnawing on huge pieces. Really, you could include any sort of veggie you want! You could even omit the sausage and just enjoy some roasted veggies. The hot peppers include some additional flavor that is outstanding!

3 responses to “Oven Roasted Sausage and Veggie Dinner

  1. Yum! That looks so delicious!

  2. i do NOT miss the wisconsin humidity one bit!!! i feel your pain tho because i know how bad it is. hang in there!!

Leave a Reply

