Foodie Penpals – Virginia

Foodie Penpal

This month, I was paired with Chris in the DC area to send her a taste of Wisconsin. Be sure to check out her blog, A Kitchen Hoor, to see what she had the pleasure of trying. I really enjoyed getting to know Chris. We exchanged numerous emails – many of which made me literally laugh out loud. She is absolutely hilarious! Her personality seems to shine through her blog. I love that (it seems) she doesn’t take herself too seriously – the world needs more people like that! Thanks, Chris, for the opportunity to get to know you. Here’s to hoping we will stay in touch!

I was paired with Molly to receive something from Virginia! I’ve never been to Virginia, so I honestly had no idea what to expect! This time around, I asked for state-specific treats and holy moly, did Molly deliver! It was her first month doing Foodie Penpals and I hope she does it again – her treats need to be shared! Thanks so much, Molly!

foodie 1

Molly sent SnaPea Crisps, Colonial Kettle Corn, a Pretzel Chocolate Bar, and Feridies Peanuts.

Up first: Kettle Corn.

foodie popcorn

I immediately opened this bag. I love me some kettle corn!! Molly bought this at a local farmers market. Yum! Besides the delicious flavor, I also am in love with the fact there are no old maids. That means I can shovel it into my face so much faster without having to worry about crunching down on one of those hard suckers!

Pretzel Chocolate Bar

foodie Collage

Holy cats. This was super good. I love chocolate pretzels, so there was no doubt I was going to love this chocolate bar. What made this so unique is that there was a love letter in it – how neat is the wrapper!? It’s kind of like Dove chocolate, on steroids. Forget the 4 word message, I got a whole love letter! It got a little melted in the mail, so it wasn’t the prettiest thing to eat, BUT as you can tell via the picture, that didn’t deter me from gobbling it down!

Feridies Peanuts

I love peanut butter. So, of course I love peanuts. Well, I actually hate the peanuts that you can get at restaurants in the shells…and then throw the shell on the floor. First of all, I think the floor looks nasty, there is nothing novel about it to me. Secondly, seriously people!? Do you know how many dirty hands have been on those things. I guarantee you’ve eaten one that has been in a child’s mouth, sucked on. Even though you may not eat the outside, I’ve seen people lick the outside for the salt before cracking them open to eat the nuts. Not to mention your manhandling the outside germs before eating your nuts anyway. (Eating your nuts?). Bleh. Gross. Not for me. I digress. THESE peanuts were perfectly clean and completely delicious. Virginia is known for peanuts, so I was pumped to find these in the box.

Saving the best for last: SnaPea Crisps.

foodie peas

I’ve seen these things around, but never had the courage to try them. They just look…weird. However, they are amazing. I have found my new favorite treat. I can’t even describe them. I even got Craig to try one and I think his explanation is best – you know those popcorn puffs you can buy in the store? Well, that is how I would describe the texture. And the flavor is similar to that, too, I suppose. I don’t know, I think the best way to understand is just to buy your own bag and try them. Even though these aren’t VA, I’m so happy Molly included these – I probably would’ve never tried them otherwise. How sad to think I could’ve been missing out.

Molly also included a nice note explaining what everything was. To me, it certainly seemed she put a lot of thought into her box and that meant a lot! Thanks again!

Are you interested in participating in Foodie Penpals? Here is some additional information:

And now it’s time for some details about Foodie Penpals:

– On the 5th of every month, you will receive your penpal pairing via email. It will be your responsibility to contact your penpal and get their mailing address and any other information you might need like allergies or dietary restrictions.
– You will have until the 15th of the month to put your box of goodies in the mail. On the last day of the month, you will post about the goodies you received from your penpal!
– The boxes are to be filled with fun foodie things, local food items or even homemade treats! The spending limit is $15. The box must also include something written. This can be anything from a note explaining what’s in the box, to a fun recipe…use your imagination!
– You are responsible for figuring out the best way to ship your items depending on their size and how fragile they are. (Don’t forget about flat rate boxes!)
– Foodie Penpals is open to blog readers as well as bloggers. If you’re a reader and you get paired with a blogger, you are to write a short guest post for your penpal to post on their blog about what you received. If two readers are paired together, neither needs to worry about writing a post for that month.
– Foodie Penpals is open to US, Canadian & European residents. Please note, Canadian Residents will be paired with other Canadians only. Same with Europeans. We’ve determined things might get too slow and backed up if we’re trying to send foods through customs across the border from US to Canada and vice versa.

If you’re from the US or Canada and are in participating for July, CLICK HERE, to fill out the participation form and read the terms and conditions.

You must submit your information by July 4th as pairings will be emailed on July 5th!

*If you’re from Europe, please CLICK HERE, to signup.

Leave a Reply

