Colorado Vacation, Part 1

This vacation has been out-of-this-world for so many reasons.  But, my favorite being that it’s like three vacations rolled into one.  Three very distinct parts, with three groups of incredibly special people.

Part one, July 4-6th was spent with my family.  My fabulous family.  My freaking fabulous family.  eff eff eff eff.  Okay, I’m done.

This is what 4am looks like.  ...in case you were wondering.

This is what 4am looks like. …in case you were wondering.

Craig and I got up at 4:00am to catch a flight out of Milwaukee on the fourth.  I was tired.  I was crabby.  But, my happy butt made it to the airport and I managed to catch a little nap before landing around 8:30 in Denver.  We headed right to Colorado Springs, where my aunt lives with her family.

With it being the 4th, of course we had a BBQ.  Chicken, ribs, brats, potato salad, yeah my family knows how to do it up right.  It was a really relaxing day.  I loved being out in the sunshine, especially since Wisconsin has been virtually underwater for the past couple weeks.  …the view of Pikes Peak wasn’t too shabby either.  My aunt’s back yard is perfect for the furbabies to overlook a walking trail.

The ex-vegetarian, Kelsey, enjoying her pork ribs.

The ex-vegetarian, Kelsey, enjoying her pork ribs.

I took this through a screened window.  But look at Boomer watching his kingdom below.

I took this through a screened window. But look at Boomer watching his kingdom below.

My aunt was also watching a couple friend’s dogs, so we had five dogs running around.  I didn’t have much of a chance to miss Myles and Rudy.  Which is good, because I’m starting to get really homesick for them now.

Doggie zoo!

Doggie zoo!

Friday, we were up bright and early (again!) to do some Colorado rafting!  ITWASSOMUCHFUN!  We rafted the Arkansas River in Buena Vista.  It was mostly class 3’s, which was good considering we had my 9 and 11-year-old cousins tagging along.  I think everyone had a great time.  We had originally planned on doing a short hike after the trip, but everyone was so wiped out, we skipped it.  We opted for ice cream instead!

c river runners

c rafting

Friday night, Craig and I spent some quality time with my immediate family.  As I’ve mentioned before, we are huge game people, so of course, it was spent playing games.  Jenga, Euchre, and Bop It.  I always lose.  Always.  And no one ever wants to be my partner.  It’s a little sad.

c jenga

Baby BopIt.  Mom and Dad didn't do so hot.  Kels and I dominated.

Baby BopIt. Mom and Dad didn’t do so hot. Kels and I dominated.

Finally, Saturday morning, we did some driving around the Springs.  Craig lived there for two years before moving to Tennessee, so he was interested to see in seeing how it had changed (which, go figure, wasn’t a ton in the past year and a half).  We drove through Garden of the Gods and Manitou Springs, and finally capped off the Springs portion of our trip with some Chick fil a.  Craig loves that chicken.  It actually made our list of “must do’s.”  He’s pretty hardcore about his chicken.

Garden of the Gods

Garden of the Gods

c chick fila

After filling our bellies with lunch, we headed out to Calhan for the wedding which was the reason behind our entire trip.  Check it out tomorrow!

2 responses to “Colorado Vacation, Part 1

  1. Colorado is for sure one of my favorite places in the entire world!!! I was just in Eagle/Vail/Aspen in May and fell in love. If someone offered me the chance to move there, I’d do it in a heartbeat!!!

Leave a Reply

