Swedish Meatballs

In one of my first months of doing Foodie Penpals, I met Chris, from A Kitchen Hoor.  I love this woman.  She is hilarious, thoughtful, and creative.  Her recipes always look mouth-watering delicious.  It only took me 2 months too long to get my act together and finally try one of them for myself.

There are a few minor variations, simply because I can’t read and didn’t buy everything I needed at the grocery store.  The variation turned out wonderfully, so I can only imagine what it tastes like with all the “real” ingredients.  You can find the original recipe on her blog, here.

photo 2– 1 lb ground beef
– 2 Tbs bread crumbs
– 2 eggs
– 1 tsp fennel seeds
– 1/2 tsp salt
– 1/4 tsp black pepper
– 1/8 tsp ground nutmeg
– 2 c mushrooms, chopped
– 2 c beef broth
– 2 Tbs cornstarch
– 1/4 c sour cream

Heat large skillet coated with cooking spray, add mushrooms and saute until brown and juices have released.  Remove and keep warm.

Combine beef, bread crumbs, eggs, fennel seeds, salt, pepper, and nutmeg in a medium mixing bowl.  Combine.

Heat large skillet coated with cooking spray.  Form 1 1/2 – 2 inch meatballs and brown on all sides.

photo 1

Combine broth and cornstarch and add to meatballs once browned along with mushrooms.  Bring to boil.  Simmer 5 to 10 minutes or until meatballs are cooked through.

Once meatballs are cooked through and sauce has thickened, remove from heat and stir in sour cream.

Serve with noodles (I used fettuccine, Chris recommends egg noodles.  I think egg noodles would trump my fettuccine).

What did I learn?  If it says to brown on all sides, DO IT.  Don’t cheat.  A few of my balls fell apart because I got impatient.  I also learned that putting mushrooms in dark sauce disguises them and that results in Craig eating a few and not realizing it (he claims to HATE mushrooms).

Craig (and I!) loved this recipe.  It’s the first winner I’ve had in quite some time. Thanks Chris for helping me out of my cooking rut.  Craig thanks you, too.  He was being subjected to some very “interesting” recipes…

4 responses to “Swedish Meatballs

  1. You should make these for me over labor day weekend! Along with lots of other stuff 🙂 I’ll bring the wine!

  2. YAY! So glad you loved them!! I used to hate shrooms. But then I realized I love them cooked but can’t stand them raw. AND baby bellas taste SO much better than white buttons. I bet he’d like those.

  3. For some reason, I am starving right now (even though I ate dinner not too long ago) and these meatballs look delicious!

Leave a Reply

