Homemade Dog Treats

My dogs are quite possibly the most spoiled creatures to walk the face of the planet. I truly think they believe they are human. Maybe it’s because Craig and I carry on one-sided conversations with them? Don’t judge. You do it, too. Right? …right? …hmm okay, maybe not, but I’ll pretend that all of you are just as crazy as I am and continue living in my little world.

When we lived in Tennessee I had purchased doggie cookie cutters with the intention of using them. That was at least 8 months ago. Since then, my mother-in-law has treated the boys to homemade treats. After being spoiled by gramma and grampa I knew that the bar had been set. Myles and Rudy just weren’t going to settle for just any treat. I mean, Rudy had eaten an entire bag of those babies, paper bag and all. No, we didn’t give them to him all at once. Yes, he climbed on the table to get them. Jerk.

My boys love peanut butter. These treats were so easy to make! They were in the oven in less than 15 minutes. The longest process was baking them! I couldn’t fit them all on one pan, so the oven was on for even longer than it should’ve been. That in itself was a problem because we haven’t turned on the AC yet and I get incredibly cranky when I’m hot (part of the reason I looooved Tennessee so much, it’s freezing cold in the summers. Yeah, right). But, about a half hour and a mini heat-induced melt down later, my boys had over 100 dog treats to enjoy.

pb treats

Peanut Butter Dog Treats

1 1/2 c whole wheat flour
1 1/2 c white flour
1/2 c peanut butter
1 c water
2 Tbs olive oil

Combine peanut butter, water, oil & flour (one cup at a time) until it is about the consistency of Playdough. Roll out to 1/4″ thickness. Cut into desired shapes. Place on ungreased cookie sheet and bake for 20 min at 350 degrees.

ccutter use

You can place them close together on the cookie sheet because they don’t expand at all.

bone Collage

I used the smallest cookie cutter for most of them.  …Until I got to the end and was in the midst of my melt down.  Then I started using bigger cutters and with the last of the dough, totally lost my patience and just broke it up into chunks.  Not that it was difficult.  I was just over-heating and stupidly crabby.  But, I still call it a win, because at no point was I reduced to tears.  Ha.

These shouldn’t be stored in a plastic bag or sealed plastic container, they’ll get too soft. My mother-in-law has given me treats like this in paper bags, but I opted for an old vase. I dressed it up with a brown ribbon I had laying around (the boys wouldn’t go for the pink I originally wanted). Now, I can leave them on the counter and they’re kind of cute!

dog Collage

My friend, Allie, from Yappy Walks, makes her own treats, too. I’m going to have to hit her up for some recipes. I mean, a dog can’t eat the same treats forever, can he? My dogs would never stand for that! They’re high maintenance pooches! Nothing at all like their mama. No, really. Okay, maybe I’m a little high maintenance. Okay, maybe a lot. Okay, I shouldn’t have brought it up.

3 responses to “Homemade Dog Treats

  1. Okay…I HAVE to try this

  2. Pingback: Pin Party! | What The Efff

Leave a comment